MOZART Overture to “Don Giovanni”

ELGAR Cello Concerto

DVORAK Symphony No. 8 in G Major


Lianah Jaensch cello

Chris Upton conductor


Hills Shire Symphony Orchestra proudly presents its first concert of 2020, Elgar & Dvorak.


2020 marks the beginning of a new initiative by the orchestra called “HSSO Player’s Spotlight”, in which a member of the orchestra will perform as a soloist with the orchestra each year. This concert we welcome our first of these members, cellist Lianah Jaensch. She will be performing Edward Elgar’s mighty Cello Concerto, a dazzling display of virtuosity and lyrical romanticism.

Opening this concert is the overture to Mozart’s opera Don Giovanni. This brief overture contains no thematic material from the opera itself, but still captures the drama and tension inherent within.

The second half of the program features the pastoral Symphony No. 8 in G Major by Antonin Dvorak. Written in under a month in Dvorak’s secluded country home, this symphony captures the idyllic nature of the Bohemian countryside. Each of the four movements takes us on an emotionally charged journey and is full of generous melodic material .


Tickets for this concert are $30 for adults and $15 for concession.

The concert should conclude at approximately 9:30 pm.


For tickets, please click here.

For subscriptions to multiple concerts, please click here.