MENDELSSOHN Overture to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream

TCHAIKOVSKY Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture

PROKOFIEV Romeo and Juliet Suite No. 2

Chris Upton conductor

Hills Shire Symphony Orchestra proudly presents its second concert of 2020, Symphonic Shakespeare.

This concert celebrates iconic playwright William Shakespeare, and the ways in which three composers have given musical life to his works. Felix Mendelssohn’s Overture to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”, part of a larger set of incidental music for the same play, captures the spirit of the comedy with a joyous and energetic atmosphere.

Unlike the previous work, Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture is a standalone work. One of his most well-known and loved pieces, Tchaikovsky captures the characters and gripping events of the play with beautiful themes and lush orchestration (Tchaikovsky actually received assistance from the “Big Five” – among the most notable Russian composers of the time, including Mussorgsky and Borodin!).

Prokofiev’s ballet of Romeo and Juliet offers a more contemporary and often highly contrasting interpretation of Shakespeare’s tragedy. Presented tonight is his second suite of sections from the ballet, beginning with the iconic Montagues and Capulets and concluding with the heart-wrenching scene of Romeo before the tomb of Juliet.

Tickets for this concert are $30 for adults and $15 for concession.

The concert should conclude at approximately 9:30 pm.

For tickets, please click here.

For subscriptions to multiple concerts, please click here.